The Resident Symphony Orchestra of the City of Anaheim


Concert, Sept. 29, 2013

For Immediate Release

September 7, 2013

Contact: Dorothy Rose, (714) 778-0314

Orange County Wind Symphony Presents

Cornerstones of Wind Band Literature

The Resident Wind Symphony of the City of Anaheim Performs Great Music for Winds


Sunday, September 29, 2013

Servite Auditorium

1942 West La Palma Avenue

6:30 PM

$20/general admission; $15/seniors and students

Free parking on site


Vaughan Williams: Toccata Marziale

Holst: First Suite in Eb Major

Grainger: Lincolnshire Posy

Jenkins: American Overture for Band

Sousa: “Looking Upward” Suite

Sousa: Stars and Stripes Forever


The Orange County Wind Symphony (OCWS) will present the second concert of its subscription season on Sunday, September 29, 2013 featuring works considered to be important milestones in Wind Band Literature

Ralph Vaughan Williams composed the Toccata Marziale in 1924 and premiered at the Royal Military School of Music (Kneller Hall). This was his second work for concert band and pays homage to the brilliant toccata’s for the Baroque Era.

Gustav Holst composed the First Suite in Eb in 1909 and it has become the most important Wind Band composition of the 20th Century. This suite is based on three distinct styles of music. A Baroque “Chaconne”, an Intermezzo, and finally, a March. Conductors often look to this piece as being the beginning of the modern Wind Band movement.

Percy Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy was premiered in 1937 and established itself as on of the most interesting compositions in the first half of the 20th Century. Based on British Folksongs collected in Lincolnshire, Grainger brings to our attention the harsh mistreatment and neglect many of the folksingers faced during their lives.

Joseph Jenkins composed the American Overture for Band in 1953 when he was just 25 years old.  Jenkins studied at the Eastman School of music and was a Staff Arranger for the US Army Band in Washington D.C.

A program of this nature would not be complete without the music of John Philip Sousa. The “Looking Upward” Suite is one of eleven Suites Sousa composed for Band during his lifetime and represents a different aspect of Sousa as a composer. We conclude this concert with our National March, The Stars and Stripes Forever.

The Orange County Wind Symphony is a regional semi-professional Wind Ensemble serving a metropolitan area of approximately 3 million people. The OCSW is honored to be part of the Anaheim community and in July 2011 was designated, along with the OCS as the Resident Wind Symphony for the City of Anaheim. The Wind Symphony is led by Dr. Anthony Mazzaferro, an accomplished Wind Band & Orchestral conductor, who currently serves on the faculties of the music departments of Fullerton College, Cal Poly Pomona, and Irvine Valley College.

For booking, interviews and complimentary tickets for reviews, please contact:

Dorothy Rose, (714) 778-0314