The Resident Symphony Orchestra of the City of Anaheim


Press Release

Orange County Wind Symphony Presents

“Blue Notes”

Sunday, June 21, 2015
Fullerton College Campus Theater
321 E. Chapman Avenue
Fullerton, CA 92832

6:30 PM concert
6:00 PM pre-concert lecture

$20/general admission; $15/seniors and students
Free parking on site

John Barnes Chance: Blue Lake Overture
Robert Sheldon: Metroplex
George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
John Mackey: Hymn to a Blue Hour
Frank Ticheli: Blue Shades
John Philip Sousa: Who’s Who in Navy Blue

The Orange County Wind Symphony (OCWS) will present their final concert of its 2014-15 season on Sunday, June 21, 2015, 2015, featuring music by composers who wrote something about “blue”. The concert will open with the Blue Lake Overture, composed for the students at the Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp in Michigan. Next comes Metroplex, Three Postcards from Manhattan, where the blues is featured prominently in the work. Pianist Wan-Chin Chang will be featured in George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Three contrasting works follow intermission. John Mackey’s Hymn to a Blue Hour, Frank Ticheli’s Blue Shades and finally, John Philip Sousa’s march Who’s Who in Navy Blue.

The Orange County Wind Symphony is a regional semi-professional Wind Ensemble serving a metropolitan area of approximately 3 million people. The OCWS is honored to be part of the Anaheim community and in July 2011 was designated, along with the OCS as the Resident Wind Symphony for the City of Anaheim. The Wind Symphony is led by Dr. Anthony Mazzaferro, an accomplished Wind Band & Orchestral conductor, who currently serves on the faculties of the music departments of Fullerton College, Cal Poly Pomona, and Irvine Valley College.

For booking, interviews and complimentary tickets for reviews, please contact:

Dorothy Rose, (714) 778-0314